Last Updated: Oct 30, 2013
Dreams and Nightmares
Call Number: Main 323.0922 W147d 2012
Publication Date: 2012-02-05
Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895
Call Number: Reference 973.049603 En193f 1619-1895
Publication Date: 2006-04-06
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present
Call Number: Reference 973.049603 En193f 1896-2010
Publication Date: 2009-02-02
Fathers, Preachers, Rebels, Men
Call Number: Main 810.0896073 F268b
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
Call Number: Main 616.02774092 L118i
Publication Date: 2010-02-02
- African American Research-National Archives
- African American Theses and Dissertations 1907-2002
A comprehensive bibliography of all theses written at the University of California, Berkeley on African American themes covering the years from 1907 to 2002
- Birmingham Civil Rights Institute (BCRI)
The Birmingham Civil Rights Institute (BCRI) documents the struggle of African-American citizens in Birmingham to becoming full participants in the city's government and business community.
- Jackson Davis Collection of African American Educational Photographs
Jackson Davis, an educational reformer and amateur photographer, took nearly 6,000 photographs of African American schools, teachers and students throughout the Southeastern United States.
His photographs -- most intended to demonstrate the wretched conditions of African American schools in the south and to show how they could be improved -- provide a unique view of southern education during the first half of the twentieth century.
- National Civil Rights Museum
The National Civil Rights Museum exists to assist the public in understanding the lessons of the Civil Rights Movement and its impact and influence on human rights movements worldwide, through its collections, exhibitions, research and educational programs.
- Randolph Linsly Simpson African-American Collection
The Randolph Linsly Simpson Collection at the Beinecke Library (Yale University)presents a vivid picture of black life and American racial attitudes from the 1850s to the 1940s; the Collection includes photographs in all formats, including hundreds of daguerreotypes and tintype portraits documenting both known and unknown African American subjects.
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, a research unit of The New York Public Library, is generally recognized as one of the leading institutions of its kind in the world. For over 80 years the Center has collected, preserved, and provided access to materials documenting black life, and promoted the study and interpretation of the history and culture of peoples of African descent.
- African American Heritage Teaching Resources
Smithsonian Institution includes highlights from the Smithsonian archive, reading lists, artist and inventor profiles. Also presents lesson plans on African-American art, history and culture.
- African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture
Library of Congress resource guide for the study of black history and culture.
- African-American Odyssey
Library of Congress effort to add rare and unique items from their vast African-American collections to the National Digital Library.
- Africans in America
The Africans in America Web site is a companion to Africans in America, a six-hour public television series. The Web site chronicles the history of racial slavery in the United States -- from the start of the Atlantic slave trade in the 16th century to the end of the American Civil War in 1865.
- American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology
Transcripts of WPA interviews.
- Black History Month Activities, History, Timeline, Ideas, Events, Facts & Quizzes - Infoplease.com
- Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA)
- Center for Contemporary Black History (CCBH)
The Center for Contemporary Black History (CCBH) promotes the critical study of black history, culture, and politics within urban America since 1900, with an emphasis on understanding the central role of black intellectuals and public leaders in the making of modern society.
- Civil Rights @Documenting the American South: Oral Histories of the American South
- Civil Rights Digital Library
The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
- Museum of the African Diaspora
The Museum of the African Diaspora (MOAD) showcases the history, art and the cultural richness that resulted from the dispersal of Africans throughout the world and realizes its mission through enriching and innovative exhibitions, education and public programs.
- National Visionary Leadership Project (NVLP)
The National Visionary Leadership Project (NVLP) records, preserves, and distributes through various media, the wisdom of extraordinary African Americans who have shaped American history.
- The Black Past: Remembered and Reclaimed
BlackPast.org, an online reference center makes available a wealth of materials on African American history in one central location, including an online encyclopedia , complete transcripts of nearly 300 speeches, and full text primary documents, bibliographies, timelines.