Last Updated: Jan 15, 2013
Religion materials fall into the following call number ranges:
210 Philosophy & theory of religion
220 The Bible
230 Christianity & Christian theology
240 Christian practice & observance
250 Christian pastoral practice & religious orders
260 Christian organization, social work & worship
270 History of Christianity
280 Christian denominations
290 Other religions
It's usually best to start with a keyword search, but subject headings applied to relevant books can help to refine your results. Open the item record of a book that interests you. Scroll down to the clickable subject headings, and run another search to explore similar books.
You can also browse the headings associated with a particular topic as a way of getting started with your research.
- eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
- Oxford Reference Premium
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection combines rich and scholarly resources offered by acclaimed titles in the Oxford Companions series with authoritative quick-reference coverage of the full subject spectrum.
- Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database covers more than 290 topics.
- ProQuest Religion
ProQuest Religion is a valuable resource for religious studies programs and for anyone researching religious issues and perspectives. This resource presently has more than 150 journals, with most of them available with full-text.
Adherents.com is a growing collection of over 43,870 adherent statistics and religious geography citations: references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc.
- Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers.
Beliefnet is a source of spiritual information presented without defined editorial point-of-view, and is a leading authority for major news organizations in the United States.
- Internet Sacred Texts Archive
- Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life
Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life delivers nonpartisan, timely information on issues and debates related to religion, news, politics, and international and public affairs. Find opinion poll data and reports on the death penalty, Islam, gay rights, human cloning, stem cell research, intelligent design, evolution, religion in schools, 2008 presidential candidates, and more.
Links and information collected by the non-academic multi-faith organization Ontario Consultants on Religious Tolerance.
- Virtual Religion Index
Large link collection from Rutgers University, categorized by religion. Also includes resources for ancient religions, archaeology, philosophy, sociology of religion
Call Number: Main 323.4420973 W146f
Publication Date: 2009-03-10
Overcoming religious illiteracy : a cultural studies approach to the study of religion in secondary education
Call Number: Main 379.28 M782o
Publication Date: 2007-09-15