Last Updated: Jan 15, 2013
Philosophy materials fall into the following call number ranges:
- 100 Philosophy
- 110 Metaphysics
- 120 Epistemology
- 130 Parapsychology & occultism
- 140 Philosophical schools of thought
- 150 Psychology
- 160 Logic
- 170 Ethics
- 180 Ancient, medieval & eastern philosophy
- 190 Modern western philosophy
It's usually best to start with a keyword search, but subject headings applied to relevant books can help to refine your results. Open the item record of a book that interests you. Scroll down to the clickable subject headings, and run another search to explore similar books.
You can also browse the headings associated with a particular topic as a way of getting started with your research.
The Routledge Companion to Twentieth-Century Philosophy
Call Number: Reference 190.904 R765m 2008
Publication Date: 2008-05-14
The Experience of Philosophy
Call Number: Main 100 Ex713k
Publication Date: 2001-08-31
Study of Philosophy
Call Number: Main 101 En324s
Publication Date: 2007-10-04
- Dictionary of Philosophy of Mind
This dictionary is intended as a free resource for all those interested in the philosophy of mind.
- Ethics Updates
Ethics Updates is designed primarily to be used by ethics instructors and their students. It is intended to provide resources and updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relates to ethics.
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia’s articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article.
- Noesis: Philosophical Research On-line
Noesis is a limited area search engine for open access, academic philosophy on the Internet.
- Oxford Companion to Philosophy
An assembly of 249 distinguished philosophers have contributed to The Oxford Companion to Philosophy to create the most authoritative and engaging philosophical reference work in English. It gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day. The second edition has been considerably revised and updated, and includes 300 new articles on current topics, such as animal consciousness, cloning, corporate responsibility, the family, globalization, and terrorism.
- Philosophy Research Base
Philosophy Research Base is categorized by history, subject and author. Integrating text resources with the best online resources, this study guide attempts to aid both academic and general interest in all philosophical genres and their related fields.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is a freely-accessible online encyclopedia of philosophy maintained by Stanford University. Each entry is written and maintained by an expert in the field, including professors from over 65 academic institutions worldwide.