Computer Science : Library Resources

Computers play a crucial role in our day-to-day lives. With more than 150 black-and-white photographs and illustrations, this title provides an examination of this fascinating field for students and general readers. It covers major corporations and organizations in the computer field.

A detailed examination of how the underlying technical structure of the Internet affects the economic environment for innovation and the implications for public policy.

Today—following housing bubbles, bank collapses, and high unemployment—the Internet remains the most reliable mechanism for fostering innovation and creating new wealth. The Internet's remarkable growth has been fueled by innovation. In this pathbreaking book, Barbara van Schewick argues that this explosion of innovation is not an accident, but a consequence of the Internet's architecture—a consequence of technical choices regarding the Internet's inner structure that were made early in its history.

The Internet's original architecture was based on four design principles: modularity, layering, and two versions of the celebrated but often misunderstood end-to-end arguments. But today, the Internet's architecture is changing in ways that deviate from the Internet's original design principles, removing the features that have fostered innovation and threatening the Internet's ability to spur economic growth, to improve democratic discourse, and to provide a decentralized environment for social and cultural interaction in which anyone can participate. If no one intervenes, network providers' interests will drive networks further away from the original design principles. If the Internet's value for society is to be preserved, van Schewick argues, policymakers will have to intervene and protect the features that were at the core of the Internet's success.

Written by a member of the R Development Core Team, this resource provides important information on how to work with research data. It contains a collection of diverse, computer-related topics, connecting them through numerous, real-world case studies. The author describes open source technologies and open standards and devotes separate chapters to each computer language, including HTML, XML, SQL, and R. Explanatory diagrams aid in understanding important concepts, helping readers perform research tasks with ease. In addition, the author's website includes a suite of exercises as well as the code and data sets used in the case studies.

A theoretical examination of the surprising emergence of software as a guiding metaphor for our neoliberal world.

New media thrives on cycles of obsolescence and renewal: from celebrations of cyber-everything to Y2K, from the dot-com bust to the next big things—mobile mobs, Web 3.0, cloud computing. In Programmed Visions, Wendy Hui Kyong Chun argues that these cycles result in part from the ways in which new media encapsulates a logic of programmability. New media proliferates “programmed visions,” which seek to shape and predict—even embody—a future based on past data. These programmed visions have also made computers, based on metaphor, metaphors for metaphor itself, for a general logic of substitutability.

Chun argues that the clarity offered by software as metaphor should make us pause, because software also engenders a profound sense of ignorance: who knows what lurks behind our smiling interfaces, behind the objects we click and manipulate? The combination of what can be seen and not seen, known (knowable) and not known—its separation of interface from algorithm and software from hardware—makes it a powerful metaphor for everything we believe is invisible yet generates visible, logical effects, from genetics to the invisible hand of the market, from ideology to culture.

Visualization is the process of representing data, information, and knowledge in a visual form to support the tasks of exploration, confirmation, presentation, and understanding. This book is designed as a textbook for students, researchers, analysts, professionals, and designers of visualization techniques, tools, and systems. It covers the full spectrum of the field, including mathematical and analytical aspects, ranging from its foundations to human visual perception; from coded algorithms for different types of data, information and tasks to the design and evaluation of new visualization techniques.

Sample programs are provided as starting points for building one's own visualization tools. Numerous data sets have been made available that highlight different application areas and allow readers to evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of different visualization methods. Exercises, programming projects, and related readings are given for each chapter. The book concludes with an examination of several existing visualization systems and projections on the future of the field.

Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) have profoundly changed many aspects of life, including the nature of entertainment, work, communication, education, healthcare, industrial production and business, social relations and conflicts. They have had a radical and widespread impact on our moral lives and hence on contemporary ethical debates. The Cambridge Handbook of Information and Computer Ethics, first published in 2010, provides an ambitious and authoritative introduction to the field, with discussions of a range of topics including privacy, ownership, freedom of speech, responsibility, technological determinism, the digital divide, cyber warfare, and online pornography. It offers an accessible and thoughtful survey of the transformations brought about by ICTs and their implications for the future of human life and society, for the evaluation of behaviour, and for the evolution of moral values and rights. It will be a valuable book for all who are interested in the ethical aspects of the information society in which we live.

It's axiomatic to state that people fear what they do not understand, and this is especially true when it comes to technology. However, despite their prevalence, computers remain shrouded in mystery, and many users feel apprehensive when interacting with them. Smartphones have only exacerbated the issue. Indeed, most users of these devices leverage only a small fraction of the power they hold in their hands. How Things Work: The Computer Science Edition is a roadmap for readers who want to overcome their technophobia and harness the full power of everyday technology. Beginning with the basics, the book demystifies the mysterious world of computer science, explains its fundamental concepts in simple terms, and answers the questions many users feel too intimidated to ask. By the end of the book, readers will understand how computers and smart devices function and, more important, how they can make these devices work for them. To complete the picture, the book also introduces readers to the darker side of modern technology: security and privacy concerns, identity theft, and threats from the Dark Web.

Applying Natural Language Processing (NLP) concepts to help humans in their daily life, this book discusses an automatic translation of an unstructured Natural Language Question (NLQ) into a Structured Query Language (SQL) statement. Using SQL as a Relational DataBase (RDB) interaction language, database administrators or general users with little to no SQL querying abilities are provided with all the knowledge necessary to perform queries on RDBs in an interactive manner. Key Features: Includes extensive and illustrative examples to simplify the discussed concepts Discusses a novel, and yet simple, approach to NLP Introduces a lightweight NLQ into SQL translation approach through the use of RDB MetaTables as a Hash table Extensive literature review and thorough background information on every tool, concept and technique applied Providing a unique approach to NLQ into SQL translation, as well as comprising disparate resources on NLP as a whole, this shortform book is of direct use to administrators and general users of databases.

This book will focus on the involvement of data mining and intelligent computing methods for recent advances in Biomedical applications and algorithms of nature-inspired computing for Biomedical systems. The proposed meta heuristic or nature-inspired techniques should be an enhanced, hybrid, adaptive or improved version of basic algorithms in terms of performance and convergence metrics. In this exciting and emerging interdisciplinary area a wide range of theory and methodologies are being investigated and developed to tackle complex and challenging problems. Today, analysis and processing of data is one of big focuses among researchers community and information society. Due to evolution and knowledge discovery of natural computing, related meta heuristic or bio-inspired algorithms have gained increasing popularity in the recent decade because of their significant potential to tackle computationally intractable optimization dilemma in medical, engineering, military, space and industry fields. The main reason behind the success rate of nature inspired algorithms is their capability to solve problems. The nature inspired optimization techniques provide adaptive computational tools for the complex optimization problems and diversified engineering applications. Tentative Table of Contents/Topic Coverage:　 - Neural Computation - Evolutionary Computing Methods - Neuroscience driven AI Inspired Algorithms - Biological System based algorithms - Hybrid and Intelligent Computing Algorithms - Application of Natural Computing - Review and State of art analysis of Optimization algorithms - Molecular and Quantum computing applications - Swarm Intelligence - Population based algorithm and other optimizations

Expand your enterprise into new regions using systems engineering and data analysis In Data Driven Decisions: Systems Engineering to Understand Corporate Valuation and Intangible Assets, investment banker, systems engineer, and Cornell University lecturer Joshua Michael Jahani delivers an incisive and unique unveiling of how to use the tools of systems engineering to value your organization, its intangible assets, and how to gauge or prepare its readiness for an overseas or cross-border expansion. In the book, you'll learn to implement a wide range of systems engineering tools, including context diagrams, decision matrices, Goal-Question-Metric analyses, and more. You'll also discover the following: How to communicate corporate value measurements and their impact to owners, executives, and investors. Explorations of the relevant topics when considering an international expansion, including macroeconomics, joint ventures, market entry, corporate valuations, mergers and acquisitions, and company culture. A comprehensive framework and methodology for examining available global regions in your search for the perfect expansion target. A deep understanding of specific sectors in which intangible assets have a particular impact, including branded consumer products, ad-tech, and healthcare. A must-have resource for business owners, managers, executives, directors, and other corporate leaders, Data-Driven Decisions will also prove invaluable to consultants and other professionals who serve companies considering expansion or growth into new regions.

Provides an applications perspective-based look at 50 years of HPC; Focuses on how HPC benefits society; Requires no prior hands-on experience in computing or science; Presents stories told by some of the main practitioners themselves