Mechanical Engineering Technology: Books

With the changing landscape of the transport sector, there are also alternative powertrain systems on offer that can run independently of or in conjunction with the internal combustion (IC) engine. This shift has actually helped the industry gain traction with the IC Engine market projected to grow at 4.67% CAGR during the forecast period 2019-2025. It continues to meet both requirements and challenges through continual technology advancement and innovation from the latest research. With this in mind, the contributions in Internal Combustion Engines and Powertrain Systems for Future Transport 2019 not only cover the particular issues for the IC engine market but also reflect the impact of alternative powertrains on the propulsion industry. The main topics include: * Engines for hybrid powertrains and electrification * IC engines * Fuel cells * E-machines * Air-path and other technologies achieving performance and fuel economy benefits * Advances and improvements in combustion and ignition systems * Emissions regulation and their control by engine and after-treatment * Developments in real-world driving cycles * Advanced boosting systems * Connected powertrains (AI) * Electrification opportunities * Energy conversion and recovery systems * Modified or novel engine cycles * IC engines for heavy duty and off highway Internal Combustion Engines and Powertrain Systems for Future Transport 2019 provides a forum for IC engine, fuels and powertrain experts, and looks closely at developments in powertrain technology required to meet the demands of the low carbon economy and global competition in all sectors of the transportation, off-highway and stationary power industries.

This Second Edition of Mechanical Design and Manufacturing of Electric Motors provides in-depth knowledge of design methods and developments of electric motors in the context of rapid increases in energy consumption, and emphasis on environmental protection, alongside new technology in 3D printing, robots, nanotechnology, and digital techniques, and the challenges these pose to the motor industry. From motor classification and design of motor components to model setup and material and bearing selections, this comprehensive text covers the fundamentals of practical design and design-related issues, modeling and simulation, engineering analysis, manufacturing processes, testing procedures, and performance characteristics of electric motors today. This Second Edition adds three brand new chapters on motor breaks, motor sensors, and power transmission and gearing systems. Using a practical approach, with a focus on innovative design and applications, the book contains a thorough discussion of major components and subsystems, such as rotors, shafts, stators, and frames, alongside various cooling techniques, including natural and forced air, direct- and indirect-liquid, phase change, and other newly-emerged innovative cooling methods. It also analyzes the calculation of motor power losses, motor vibration, and acoustic noise issues, and presents engineering analysis methods and case-study results. While suitable for motor engineers, designers, manufacturers, and end users, the book will also be of interest to maintenance personnel, undergraduate and graduate students, and academic researchers.

This book provides over 250 quick review problems with complete, step-by-step solutions for all types of mechanical engineering exams. It covers all the important mathematical concepts used in mechanical engineering, physics, and other sciences, including functions, derivatives, integration, methods of integration, applications of integrals, matrices, complex numbers, and more. Excellent review of key mathematical topics prior to taking the exams. FEATURES: Includes over 250 review problems with complete, step-by-step solutions Covers all the important mathematical concepts used in mechanical engineering including functions, derivatives, integration, methods of integration, applications of integrals, matrices, complex numbers, and more.

1) Introduces a concept with wide ranging applications throughout engineering, from design to business, with case studies as practical examples 2) Provides applications to emerging technologies such as mobile app development and provides online tools to aid readers in practicing Design Thinking 3) Relates Design thinking to artificial intelligence, devops and machine learning 4) Aids students and professionals in gaining experience to prepare for a job in various industries 5) Applies Design Thinking to multiple hot topics such as sustainability

Welding technology has been taken for granted as a mature and established technology for too long. However, many new welding technologies have been included among the alternatives to joining materials. They come both from the areas of fusion and solid-state welding. Moreover, a recent approach has offered one more alternative. This is hybrid welding, which couples two or more welding sources in a cooperative or synergic welding mode. Welding engineers and scientists have the task to understand which is the best technology for a specific application. This task requires deep knowledge and great intelligence to tackle the challenge of producing light and smart structures and products. In this book, a glimpse of recent developments in metal alloy welding is presented. Laser, friction, and arc welding are the main protagonists of the papers that are included. Processes, materials, and tools are described and studied along with investigation procedures and numerical simulations. This book will make you aware of most of the subjects discussed in the scientific community and new potentialities of welding as a leading technology in manufacturing. I hope you enjoy reading this Special Issue, "Advances in Welding Metal Alloys, Dissimilar Metals and Additively Manufactured Parts".