LibGuides: Botany: Botany

The Beautiful Tricks of Flowers

"In this visually dazzling talk, Jonathan Drori shows the extraordinary ways flowering plants -- over a quarter million species -- have evolved to attract insects to spread their pollen." (TED.com)

Botany library liaison

Christin Loehr

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Julia Tutwiler Library
Station 12
Livingston, AL 35470

205-652-3615

Julia Tutwiler Library databases specific to Botany

AGRICOLA
Online catalog for the National Agriculture Library
American Journal of Botany
The American Journal of Botany (AJB), the flagship journal of the Botanical Society of America (BSA), publishes peer-reviewed, innovative, significant research of interest to a wide audience of plant scientists in all areas of plant biology.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”
Biological Science Database
ProQuest Biology Journals™ provides access to a wide range of biology topics. The database includes just under 400 titles, with more than 325 available in full text.
Gale OneFile: Agriculture
Agriculture Collection comprises over 400 agricultural periodicals powered by InfoTrac as well as relevant, in-depth reference titles from Delmar, a part of Cengage Learning.
JSTOR
ProQuest Science Journals
ProQuest Science Journals™ is an excellent resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences.With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1,145 titles.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)

Botany on the Web

Biota of North America Program (BONAP)
The Biota of North America Program (BONAP) maintains relatively complete phytogeographic and related botanical databases for all free-living vascular plants in North America (north of Mexico).
E. O. Wilson's Biodiversity Foundation
The E. O. Wilson's Biodiversity Foundation mission is conservation -- to ensure no species are left behind.
Flora of North America
FNA presents information on the names, taxonomic relationships, continent-wide distributions, and morphological characteristics of all plants native and naturalized found in North America north of Mexico.
Max Planck Institute of Molecular Plant Physiology
At the Max Planck Institute of Molecular Plant Physiology in Golm near Potsdam researchers investigate metabolic and molecular processes in plant cells, tissues and organs.
Millennium Seed Bank
"The Millennium Seed Bank hides an underground collection of over 2.4 billion seeds from around the world, banking them to conserve them for the future."
Noble Foundation Plant Image Gallery
The Noble Foundation Plant Image Gallery is designed to assist botanists, ecologists, natural resource managers, educators and hobbyist with the identification of plants commonly found in the southern Great Plains.
Open Science Foundation
"OSF is a free, open platform to support your research and enable collaboration." Open Science Foundation
PLANTS Database
The PLANTS Database, maintained by the US Department of Agriculture, provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Plants For A Future (PFAF)
Royal Botanical Gardens @ Kew
The Royal Botanic Gardens @ Kew, founded in 1759, and declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2003. is a world leader in plant science and conservation.
United States National Arboretum

Select Library Resources

The Botany of Beer by Giuseppe Caruso; Kosmos SRL (Translator); Marika Josephson (Foreword by)
Call Number: 663.42 C251b

ISBN: 9780231201582

Publication Date: 2022

This book will appeal to a wide audience, from beer aficionados to botany enthusiasts, providing valuable information for homebrewers and professional beer makers alike. It reveals how botanical knowledge can open new possibilities for today's and tomorrow's brewers.
Atlas of Perfumed Botany by Jean-Claude Ellena; Karin Doering-Froger (Illustrator); Erik Butler (Translator)
Call Number: 635.968 EL542a

ISBN: 9780262046732

Publication Date: 2022

A cartography of fragrance that charts the botany and geography of perfume composition.
The Multifarious Mr. Banks by Toby Musgrave
Call Number: 508.092 M972m

ISBN: 9780300259209

Publication Date: 2021

As official botanist on James Cook's first circumnavigation, the longest-serving president of the Royal Society, advisor to King George III, the "father of Australia," and the man who established Kew as the world's leading botanical garden, Sir Joseph Banks was integral to the English Enlightenment.
Beyond the Sea by David Strayer
Call Number: 577.6 St829b

ISBN: 9781421450070

Publication Date: 2024

An exciting foray into Earth's inland waters, the remarkable species they contain, and the conservation challenges of protecting them.
A Botanist's Vocabulary by Susan K. Pell; Bobbi Angell
Call Number: Main 580.3 P363b

ISBN: 9781604695632

Publication Date: 2016-05-25

Through concise definitions and detailed black and white illustrations, A Botanist's Vocabulary defines 1300 words commonly used by botanists, naturalists, and gardeners to describe plants.
Alice in the Land of Plants by Yiannis Manetas
ISBN: 3642283373

Publication Date: 2012-06-08
The Evolution of Plants by Kathy Willis; Jennifer McElwain
Call Number: Main 581.38 W679e

ISBN: 9780199292233

Publication Date: 2014-02-19

Plants first colonized the land over 430 million years ago, having evolved from some of the most primitive forms of life.
Flora of North America (series) by Flora of North America Editorial Committee (Editor)
Call Number: Reference 581.97 F661

ISBN: 0195305655
An Introduction to Plant Structure and Development by Charles B. Beck
Call Number: Main 571.2 B388i 2010

ISBN: 0521518059

Publication Date: 2010-04-22
Plant Cytogenetics by Hank Bass (Editor); James A. Birchler (Editor)
ISBN: 9780387708690

Publication Date: 2011-12-02

This reference book provides information on plant cytogenetics for students, instructors, and researchers.
ISBN: 9780231201582