Alabama Room - History and Genealogy : Finding Aids

Collected materials covering the history of Sumter County and surrounding areas. Collection consists mainly of copies. Original material consists of court records.
1840-1997

Files contain business meeting minutes, financial records, membership lists, committee files, correspondence, projects taken on by the SCHS, newsletters, historical home survey files containing photos and survey , miscellaneous material from Ira D. Pruitt
1950-1993

Working papers of Ann Gay for the writing of: "Choctaw, Sumter and Washington Counties" C.S.A. Companies. Compiled by Ann Harwell Gay, Meridian, MS, Brown Printing Company, Copyright 2003.

Anne True Honeycutt is the great niece of Martha Young and great-great niece of Julia Strudwick Tutwiler. This collection was given to Julia Tutwiler Library by Nan Tutwiler Young Schaeffer Graham, the great niece of Martha Young and great-great niece of Julia Strudwick Tutwiler.

This collection contains articles, clippings, stories, and memorabilia related to three prominent members from the University: Julia S. Tutwiler, Martha Young, and E. A. Young.

Miscellaneous

Ruby Pickens Tartt, originally Ruby Stuart Pickens, daughter of Fannie West Short and William King Pickens, was born on January 13, 1880. Ruby S. Pickens married William Pratt Tartt on October 18, 1904. The couple had one child, Fannie Pickens Tartt Inglis, born on June 21, 1906. R. P. Tartt died on November 29, 1974 in York, Alabama and was buried in Myrtlewood Cemetery in Livingston, AL.

Augustus A. Mechling
Major, United States Army, Civil War
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Wife: Susan
Children: Jonas Henry, Edward A. and Lizzie Mechling
Correspondence
Date Span: 1861~ -1917

Handwritten Aaron Burr letters

Miscellaneous

Location: Alabama Room, Vault, R1.1.2

Bas-Relief (2)
Poster
Sculpting tools
Devotional Medications (booklets)
Scrapbooks (2)

The Giuseppe Moretti scrapbook was donated to the Julia Tutwiler Library by Miss Geneva Mercer of Demopolis, Alabama, in 1983. Mr. Moretti designed and executed the casting of VULCAN, and he was the first sculptor to use Alabama marble for works of art.

Each Folder contains a photograph and completed survey of the church

Includes names, hometowns, and majors

Includes clothing, writings, photographs, etc.

Includes family histories, churches, organizations, towns, etc.

Correspondence between the Smith family from the 1850s nineteenth century to 1960.

Includes catalogs, administrative files, self-studies, yearbooks, etc.

Includes 19th century publications