Library and Information Science: Archives/Preservation

The Archivists’ Toolkit is an open source archival data management system that provides broad, integrated support for the management of archives.

The Glossary contains more than 2,000 defined entries, more than 600 lead-in terms, nearly 700 citations from some 280 sources, and is based primarily on archival literature in the United States and Canada.

EAD stands for Encoded Archival Description, and is a non-proprietary de facto standard for the encoding of finding aids for use in a networked (online) environment.

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper.

Founded in 1936, the Society of American Archivists is North America's oldest and largest national archival professional association.

BCIN, the Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network, is the Web's most complete bibliographic resource for the conservation, preservation and restoration of cultural property.

Basic information and simple steps to take for the good care, handling, and storage of various materials and formats found in library and home collections

CoOL, an online resource operated by the Foundation of the American Institute for Conservation is a full text library of conservation information.

This is the home of the National Digital Stewardship Alliance, Digital Preservation Outreach and Education and the National Digital Information Infrastructure and Preservation Program.

This online tutorial is a guide to the concepts and challenges of digital preservation.

The mission of the NDCC is to improve the preservation programs of libraries, museums, archives, and other historical and cultural institutions.