Last Updated: May 15, 2013
- Academic Search Premier
This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 820 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 500 journals.
- InfoTrac Communication and Mass Media Collection
Communications & Mass Media Collection brings together nearly 3 million articles found in more than 350 journals that cover all aspects of the communications field.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
- ProQuest Central
- ProQuest NewsStand
ProQuest Newsstand™ offers access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. The database includes backfile for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each paper.
- Center for Digital Storytelling
For nearly twenty years, the Center has been supporting people in sharing meaningful stories from their lives. Our unique workshops assist participants in producing short, first-person narratives that can be presented in a variety of traditional and social media formats.
- Data Desk-Los Angeles Times
Maps, databases, data analysis and visualization
- Data Driven Journalism
This website is dedicated to providing anyone interested in getting started with data driven journalism with a collection of learning resources, including relevant events, tools, tutorials, interviews and case studies.
- Data Journalism Blog
Blog discussing "data journalism"-journalism which uses publicly-available data as a basis for reporting. It is also sometimes called "data-driven journalism".
- Datablog-Guardian (UK Newspaper)
Data journalism and data visualization from the Datablog
- New Media Institute
The New Media Institute (NMI) is a research and fact finding organization whose mission is to improve public understanding of issues surrounding the Internet and other forms new media communications.
- Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press is an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues.
- Poynter Institute
Journalism training, media news & how-tos
ProPublica is an independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest.
- Student Media Sourcebook-studentpress.org
A directory of links and contact information for resources and organizations of interest to student journalists.
“Data journalism is obtaining, reporting on, curating and publishing data in the public interest.”
(Jonathan Stray, professional journalist, computer scientist)
Call Number: Main 302.23 At85a
Publication Date: 2008-11-30
The News and Its Future
Call Number: Main 071.3 N474m
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Women in American Journalism
Call Number: Main 071.3082 W617w
Publication Date: 2008-08-04