Nursing and Medicine: Finding Articles/Databases

AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish.

Alt HealthWatch™ focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full-text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports.

CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.

Health Source®: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to over 80 full-text consumer health magazines.

This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.

MEDLINE® contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world.  PubMed® provides free access to MEDLINE and links to full text articles when possible.

Leading medical reference resource with both a professional and consumer version.

Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.

Pharmaceutical News Index® gives researchers access to the latest information on medical technology, research, and legislative developments.

The PILOTS bibliographic database's goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.

ProQuest Family Health covers an enormous range of subjects of value in the public library context - from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.

American Psychiatric Association Publishing is the world’s premier publisher of books, journals, and multimedia on psychiatry, mental health and behavioral science. We offer authoritative, up-to-date and affordable information geared toward psychiatrists, other mental health professionals, psychiatric residents, medical students and the general public.

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

SAGE Open Nursing (SON) is a peer-reviewed open access journal which covers all aspects of nursing and patient care across the various nursing specialties and related disciplines.