Our medical systems are broken. Doctors are capable of extraordinary (and expensive) treatments, but they are losing their core focus: actually treating people. Doctor and writer Atul Gawande suggests we take a step back and look at new ways to do medicine -- with fewer cowboys and more pit crews.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
American Medical Association Journals - contents, abstracts and selected full-text articles from AMA journals.
CDC Health Topics A-Z - information on a number of public health issues and diseases.
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA approved labels (package inserts).
Diagnostic Procedures Handbook - searchable database of
procedures.
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
healthfinder.gov is a free guide to reliable health information, by the US Department of Health and Human Services.
Lab Tests Online offers noncommercial patient education on blood, urine, and other lab tests to help health care consumers better manage their care.
Mayo Clinic is a not-for-profit medical practice dedicated to the diagnosis and treatment of virtually every type of complex illness.
MedlinePlus MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
Medweb Directory of Biomedical Information Resources
NCLEX Exam Prep & Test Taking Guide
NIH Health Infomation - health education and information resources
Nursing Center- links to WWW sites in clinical nursing, education, and research.
Lab Tests Online offers noncommercial patient education on blood, urine, and other lab tests to help health care consumers better manage their care.
Lippincott's Nursing Center - full-text articles and table of contents searching capabilities for nursing periodicals.
Martindales's -The Virtual Medical Center - patient information for health conditions.
Mayo Clinic is a not-for-profit medical practice dedicated to the diagnosis and treatment of virtually every type of complex illness.
National Guideline Clearinghouse - a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature (NRCBL) - is a specialized collection of books, journals, newspaper articles, legal materials, regulations, codes, government publications, and other relevant documents concerned with issues in biomedical and professional ethics.
PDRHealth - Drug information guide and health resources for consumers from the publishers of the Physicians' Desk Reference.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Virtual Nursing Center - links to nursing and medical resources on the WWW, such as databases, online journals, and procedures.
Wellcome Library - Located in London, England. One of the world's major resources for the study of medical history.