LibGuides: Environmental Sciences: Environmental Science

James Hansen: Why I must speak out about climate change

Top climate scientist James Hansen tells the story of his involvement in the science of and debate over global climate change. In doing so he outlines the overwhelming evidence that change is happening and why that makes him deeply worried about the future.

Research and Instruction Librarian

Christin Loehr

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Julia Tutwiler Library
Station 12
Livingston, AL 35470

205-652-3615

Subjects: Chemistry

Environmental Science on the Web

Environmental Protection Agency
The mission of EPA is to protect human health and the environment.
E. O. Wilson Biodiversity Foundation
The E.O. Wilson Biodiversity Foundation's mission is conservation -- to ensure no species are left behind.
Greenpeace
Greenpeace is the largest independent direct-action environmental organization in the world.
Mother Nature Network (MNN)
With a goal of providing the most accurate and up-to-date news and information available, MNN covers a broad scope of environmental news and social responsibility issues divided into 8 areas: Earth Matters, Lifestyle, Green Tech, Eco-Biz, Health, Your Home, Food, and Family.
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
The mission of the NIEHS is to discover how the environment affects people in order to promote healthier lives.
Natural Resources Defense Council
Nature Conservancy
The Nature Conservancy is a leading conservation organization working around the world to protect ecologically important lands and waters for nature and people.
NOAA - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) is a federal agency focused on the condition of the oceans and the atmosphere.
Open Science Foundation
"OSF is a free, open platform to support your research and enable collaboration." Open Science Foundation
ScienceDaily: Earth & Climate News
ScienceDaily: Environmental Science News
United Nations Environment Programme
UNEPs mission is to provide leadership and encourage partnership in caring for the environment by inspiring, informing, and enabling nations and peoples to improve their quality of life without compromising that of future generations.

Databases for Environmental Science

Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search Premier
This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles.
AGRICOLA
Online catalog for the National Agriculture Library
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 612,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 9,100 records.
Gale In Context: Environmental Issues
(formerly GREENR: Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) is interactive and current, allowing users to navigate issue, organization and country portals. It's Gale/Cengage's one-stop site dedicated to studying sustainability and the environment.
Gale OneFile: Agriculture
Agriculture Collection comprises over 400 agricultural periodicals powered by InfoTrac as well as relevant, in-depth reference titles from Delmar, a part of Cengage Learning.
JSTOR
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text - from 1971 forward.
ProQuest Science Journals
ProQuest Science Journals™ is an excellent resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences.With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1,145 titles.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)