LibGuides: Education: Library Resources/Finding Articles

Education Materials in the Library

Most Education materials fall into the 370-379 call number range.

370 Education
371 Schools & their activities; special education
372 Elementary education
373 Secondary education
374 Adult education
375 Curricula
376 [Unassigned]
377 [Unassigned]
378 Higher education
379 Public policy issues in education

It's usually best to start with a keyword search, but subject headings applied to relevant books can help to refine your results. Open the item record of a book that interests you. Scroll down to the clickable subject headings, and run another search to explore similar books.

You can also browse the headings associated with a particular topic as a way of getting started with your research.

Education by the Numbers (Infographic)

Finding Articles in Education

Children's Core Collection This link opens in a new window
The ideal collection development and curriculum support resource for anyone who works with children’s books.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new window
The CLCD Enterprise PreK-12 dB is the premier academic and research resource for courses needing to locate Children’s and Young Adult books and other media. The content includes over one million fiction/non-fiction titles, hundreds of thousands of awards and professional reviews including author/title links, lesson plans and teaching guides. The search engine offers multiple options including 50 search filters for finding materials to determine interest and reading levels, selecting trade books based on standards, creating thematic and annotated biographies, interpreting reviews, developing classroom collections, book challenges and collection development.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more.
Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Educator's Reference Complete is a selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
ERIC (U.S. Dept. of Education) This link opens in a new window
Explora Educators Edition This link opens in a new window
Explora for Middle & High Schools This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. This database product contains data from Yearbooks 9 through 15.
Middle and Junior High School Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Middle and Junior High Core Collection contains over 9,000 entries for nonfiction works, fiction and collections for children and adolescents, plus review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection™ includes full text for more than 520 high-quality education journals.
ProQuest Education Journals This link opens in a new window
ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to around 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.
Senior High School Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Senior High Core Collection contains more than 40,500 entries for fiction and nonfiction works, including listings of review sources and other aids for librarians and school media specialists.